Let's Get Real: Marketing Your Book Is NOT About You

Dear Friend,

Let me say that again: Marketing your book is NOT about you.

I know, I know. All this time, you've been told to establish your author platform, to be active on social media, to put your voice and face out there. And yes, you should. But let's dig deeper.

Jesus said in Matthew 5:14-16:

You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl; instead, they put it on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, so that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father who is in heaven.

We shouldn't hide our light. We should let it shine so that others may see our good deeds. And what's one of your good deeds? Your book! When people see your work, they will praise your Father in heaven. You bring glory to God by letting others see your book.

It's good for your book to be noticed. Yes, it's good to establish your legacy and to have an income from book sales or speaking engagements. But most of all, it's a responsibility and a privilege to lead people to praise God through your work. I pray we don't forget that.

However, I understand why you might hesitate. Perhaps you feel that marketing your book makes it all about you. Maybe you're afraid of being judged, of others thinking you're prideful, or worried that it might lead to greed. These are valid concerns, but let’s unpack them.

Our thoughts shape our actions. If we constantly think:

“I don’t want to market.”

“I don’t want to put myself out there.”

“I don’t even want to publish my book.”

“What will people think of me?”

“I hate marketing; it’s just sleazy and slimy!”

These negative thoughts will hold us back. We won't market our books. We might never hit that publish button. Our actions (or lack thereof) will reflect these limiting beliefs.

Can you see how this works?

It starts with a change in mindset. Identify and challenge those negative thoughts. What's holding you back? What's the underlying fear?

Many of us are stuck because we worry about others’ opinions. But that’s their issue, not yours. Your responsibility is your actions. If your intentions are pure, let your light shine! Don’t hold back. Be the person God created you to be.

Let’s renew our minds and embrace the privilege of sharing our work with the world, for His glory. My goal is to help you market your message and amplify your book sales and influence without compromising your values. We want to make sure Christ is exalted through our work. There is a balance so we don't lose sight of this mission, and that's what we're here for.

If this is something you struggle with, please reply to this email. I'd love to hear your thoughts and help you navigate this journey. You can also connect with me through here.

Dedicated To Your Success,

Tam