My Secret Fuel for Powering Through Writer's Block

Hi Friend,

Have you ever stared at that blinking cursor, a vast empty page mocking your inability to summon the words? Or found yourself utterly drained after spending hours on a marketing campaign, wondering if it's even worth the effort?

I know that struggle all too intimately. As an author and entrepreneur, maintaining consistent creativity and motivation is an ever-present battle for me. But I've discovered a powerful fuel that has helped me push through those inevitable lulls.

Some days, juggling my core creative work with all the hustling required to get those words out into the world feels overwhelming. In those moments, I've learned to pause and honestly assess: Do I have what I need to tackle this thing right now? And if not, I give myself grace. 

Realistically evaluating your personal well-being and creative reserves. Giving yourself permission to recharge when the tank simply feels empty, rather than berating yourself for the lack of productivity.

But here's the real gem that has been my secret refueling sauce: plugging into a source of spiritual sustenance through daily devotions. Reading ‘Jesus Always’ by Sarah Young grounds me, as it always seems to speak to me and the situations I'm going through. There's nothing that I can experience that God hasn't made a way for me to feel equipped and empowered to handle ultimately.

By connecting with His purpose, I gain the perspective to keep showing up, even when the words won't flow, because my "why" extends far beyond mere output. 

How about you? How do you refuel when burnout strikes?

When motivation lags, here are some tips that have worked for me and others in our community:

1) Change your scenery - Head to a coffee shop, park, or new environment to restart your creative juices.

2) Read or consume other creators' work to get inspired again.

3) Take a temporary break from the offending project to work on something new.

4) Move your body through exercise to boost energy and endorphins.

5) Celebrate your past wins to remind yourself of your "why."

Don't forget, you also have the invaluable gift of being part of our community! A tribe to remind you that the tough stretches are temporary. A safe space to refuel your motivation by remembering your core calling. A wellspring of collective wisdom and empathy.

Share your current pain points by creating a new post in our Christian Authors Network Community. Tap into the collective insight, tips and strategies of writers and authors who've been there before. Together, we can overcome any hurdle by reconnecting with our purpose.

After all, our words and messages have the power to change lives. And with a little community encouragement, creative refueling, and embodied tips, we can smash through any obstacle in our path.

Dedicated to your success,

Tam